

Outback Communities Authority 26 Mildred Street PO Box 3326 Port Augusta West SA 5700 108 7133 3500 2 oca@sa.gov.au www.outbacksa.sa.gov.au

OUTBACK COMMUNTIES AUTHORITY MEMBERSHIP NOMINATION INFORMATION SHEET

Background

Almost two-thirds of South Australia's geographic area (or 655,000 square kilometres) is located outside of local government areas. It has a dispersed population of approximately 3,000 people residing in numerous small communities, service locations and pastoral and farming properties.

In 2007, the state government conducted a review of the governance arrangements for the outback that resulted in an Act of Parliament being enacted: the Outback Communities (Administration and Management) Act 2009 (the Act) which established the Outback Communities Authority. The Act and its regulations can be downloaded at <u>www.legislation.sa.gov.au</u>.

The Outback Communities Authority (the Authority) has responsibility for the delivery of certain local government services and activities for local communities and visitors to the region (except those on defined Aboriginal lands).

Functions of the Authority

The Authority's functions are to manage the provision of, and promote improvements in, public services and facilities for outback communities and articulate the views, interests, and aspirations of these communities.

The Act requires the Authority to involve communities in decision-making and in setting long term strategic directions, and in its supporting annual business plan and budget.

The Act also enables the Authority to create opportunities to provide improved infrastructure and services in the outback through better cost sharing mechanisms in the form of an asset sustainability levy and community contributions. Community contributions are currently made by the communities of Andamooka, Iron Knob and Leigh Creek. An asset sustainability levy has never been established.

The Authority is under the direction of the Minister for Local Government.

The objects of the legislation and the functions and objectives of the Authority are set out in Appendix A. More immediate questions on the Authority's membership are dealt with in the following 'frequently asked questions' (FAQs) section.

FAQs

How are the Members appointed? What is the term of each appointment?

The Authority consists of seven Members who are appointed by the Governor for a term not exceeding 3 years, one of whom will be appointed as the Presiding Member.

Members are appointed for a term enabling membership to be staggered thereby mitigating the likelihood of wholescale changes to the Authority. All Members are eligible for re-appointment after expiry of their term.

Who can nominate for membership?

The Act requires that at least four Members will be from different outback communities. Nominations are open to any person living in the outback or who has interest in supporting and progressing the development of

outback communities. The Authority is undergoing significant positive change. While skills and experience in disciplines such as strategic thinking, finance and accounting, local government regulation, and outback community development would be advantageous, a commitment to community service in the outback is equally important.

How often will the Authority meet, and where?

The Authority meets on at least a bi-monthly basis and more frequently on an 'as needs' basis. Meetings will run between two and three hours, however the meetings are generally held over two days commencing at lunch time on day one and finishing at lunch time on day two. This allows time to deal with matters such as strategic planning, asset and financial management planning, sub-committee meetings and workshops.

Meetings and workshops are usually held in Port Augusta, however there may be occasions for them to be held in Adelaide or in townships and settlements throughout the outback. This may necessitate overnight stays. Meetings are also sometimes held online.

How are the Authority's operations supported?

The Authority is supported by a small administrative team based in Port Augusta. Staff are employed by the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

The Authority operates within an annual budget of approximately \$4.5 million which is funded by a state government appropriation, a Commonwealth Financial Assistance Grant, and revenue derived from bank interest and other business activities.

Are Members remunerated for their services?

The Presiding Member and Members are entitled to receive an annual remuneration for their services. The remuneration applying to government boards is currently under review.

Reimbursement for travel and accommodation expenses will be made to all Members in accordance with Commissioner for Public Employment's Standard 3.2.

How do I nominate?

Nominations should include a cover letter and current CV and emailed to oca@sa.gov.au by close of business on Friday 21 March 2025, with the subject line "Outback Communities Authority Nomination for Membership".

Please include the following information in your nomination:

- Your personal contact details (full name, address, mobile, email)
- Details of current/past board or committee membership (including length of term and positions held)
- Skills and experience you bring to the role
- Current or recent community experience
- Relevant work experience/education/training
- Interests.

For a confidential discussion about your nomination please contact Marg Howard, Director Outback Communities Authority, on telephone 0423 299 995 or 1800 640 542 (free call).

Appendix A

Outback Communities (Administration and Management) Act 2009 Objects, Functions and Objectives

Objects of the Act (s4)

The objects of the Act are-

- (a) to provide for efficient and accountable administration and management of outback communities; and
- (b) to promote participation of outback communities in their administration and management; and
- (c) to raise revenue for public services and facilities in the outback.

Functions and objectives of the Authority (s6)

The functions of the Authority are-

- (a) to manage the provision of public services and facilities to outback communities; and
- (b) to promote improvements in the provision of public services and facilities to outback communities; and
- (c) to articulate the views, interests, and aspirations of outback communities.

In performing its functions, the Authority is-

- (a) primarily to foster and support the provision of public services and facilities to outback communities by community organisations, including by making grants and loans to such organisations; and
- (b) to consider long term requirements for maintenance, replacement, and development of infrastructure for public services and facilities for outback communities; and
- (c) to consider State and national objectives and strategies that are relevant to outback communities; and
- (d) to seek ongoing collaboration with local, State, and national governments in the planning and delivery of public services and facilities to outback communities; and
- (e) to ensure that there are systems in place to further its understanding of the views, interests, and aspirations of outback communities; and
- (f) to facilitate decision making by others on a basis that is well informed in relation to the views, interests, and aspirations of outback communities, including by participating in appropriate local, State, and national forums; and
- (g) to provide services with a high level of efficiency and effectiveness, manage resources effectively, prudently and in a fully accountable manner and maintain and enhance the value of public assets.