Slow connection? Switch to low bandwidth version:

OCA Chair announced as individual finalist in first ever SA Climate Leaders awards

Chair of the Outback Communities Authority (OCA), Ms Cecilia Woolford, has been announced as an individual finalist in the first ever South Australian Climate Leaders awards.

An initiative of the State Government’s key advisory body on climate change matters, the Premier’s Climate Change Council, the awards recognise individuals and organisations for their contribution and achievement in three award categories; individual, industry and business, and community and regions.

As the co-founder of the Eyre Peninsula Integrated Climate Change Agreement Committee and Chair of the Steering Committee for the Far North and Outback Regional Adaptation Plan, Ms Woolford is pioneering regional climate change adaption and action in regional South Australia.

Ms Woolford, said that she is determined to leverage her leadership positions in region to ensure that the South Australian outback is climate change ready, and transitioning to a low carbon future.

“Climate adaption governance is imperative to ensuring that climate change remains at the forefront of discussions,” she said.

“My work has seen me challenge climate change skeptics in regional communities, however direct engagement has allowed me to impart my knowledge of the science behind climate change and highlight the need for action.

“Increasing the willingness of individuals in region to support the State’s low carbon transition will ensure that South Australia is more climate ready.

“I am determined to keep climate change on the agenda and will continue to work with leaders in the community to develop adaptation pathways which engage with the needs of the community.”

Ms Woolford has shared the South Australia climate change adaption planning experience at international conferences including the Oxford Climate Change Academy in Oxford (2012), Climate Adaptation Conference in Brazil (2014) and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Convention in Paris (2015).

One winner from each category, plus an overall winner, will be announced next Monday, 28 November.

Winners will receive a prize of $10,000 toward their attendance at a climate change related conference or event, or a contribution toward the winner’s continued action on climate change.

Visit for more information.